Board and Staff

Board and Staff

Leadership Team

President and CEO: Richard H. C. Clay | richardclay@filsonhistorical.org

Vice President: Dr. Julie Scoskie James | julie@filsonhistorical.org

Curator of Collections: James J. Holmberg | holmberg@filsonhistorical.org

Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer: Marian Potter | marian@filsonhistorical.org

Director of Collections Access: Jennie Cole | jcole@filsonhistorical.org

Scholar in Residence and Co-editor of Ohio Valley History: Patrick A. Lewis, Ph.D. | patricklewis@filsonhistorical.org

Director of Development: Brenna Cundiff | brenna@filsonhistorical.org

Collections Department

Manuscripts, photographs, prints, architectural records, ephemera, and other primary sources. Genealogy, printed materials, maps and other published items. Portraits, ceramics, silver, textiles, weapons, and other artifacts.

*Please submit reference queries to research@filsonhistorical.org; image orders to images@filsonhistorical.org

Librarian: Kathryn Bratcher | bratcher@filsonhistorical.org

Associate Curator of Collections: Jana Meyer | jmeyer@filsonhistorical.org

Curator of Photographs and Prints: Heather J. Potter, MLIS | hpotter@filsonhistorical.org

Museum Registrar and Exhibits Coordinator: Maureen Lane | maureen@filsonhistorical.org

Curator of Jewish Collections: Abby Glogower, Ph.D. | abbyglogower@filsonhistorical.org

Manuscript Cataloger: James M. Prichard | jprichard@filsonhistorical.org

Collections Cataloger: Dr. Lynn Pohl | lynn@filsonhistorical.org

Collections Assistant: Brooks Vessels | brooks@filsonhistorical.org

Research Specialists: Hannah Costelle | hannah@filsonhistorical.org and Emily Benken | emily@filsonhistorical.org

Associate Curator of Digital Projects: Danielle Spalenka | danielle@filsonhistorical.org

Education and Programming

Programs and Education Manager: Scott Scarboro | sscarboro@filsonhistorical.org

Marketing and Public Relations Coordinator: Jamie Evans | jevans@filsonhistorical.org
Editor of The Filson news magazine, Managing Editor of Ohio Valley History

Development

Membership, annual fund, donations, planned giving, business partnerships, and sponsorships.

Membership and Grants Manager: Kate Wanke | kate@filsonhistorical.org

Special Projects Coordinator: Sarah Laufer Bruns, CTA | sarah@filsonhistorical.org

Community Engagement Specialist: Emma Bryan | emmabryan@filsonhistorical.org

Administrative Department

Business Manager: Ellie Smith | ellie@filsonhistorical.org

Facilities and Technology Manager: Kyle Brewer | kylebrewer@filsonhistorical.org

Research and Ohio Valley History

Co-editor of Ohio Valley History: Dr. Matthew D. Norman | matthew.norman@uc.edu

Ohio Valley History Book Review Editor: Dr. Matt Stanley | matthew.stanley@asurams.edu

Venue Rental

Spaces Available for Rent Beginning 2021

The Filson Historical Society is a unique venue that blends the historic with the modern and provides a stunning background for any event. Several areas of the campus are available to be rented for dinners, retreats, meetings, receptions, parties, or weddings. The venues have access to 74 free parking spaces and wifi, as well as small catering areas. All of the Filson’s facilities have accessible parking.

View a virtual tour of our spaces!

Visit the Filson

1310 S. 3rd St., Louisville, KY 40208
(502) 635-5083

The Filson is temporarily closed to the public to protect our staff, volunteers, and patrons during the coronavirus pandemic. All events are currently postponed or virtual; to register for our live virtual events, please visit our Events Page; for information on recorded lectures and other activities, please visit us online at Bringing History Home.

We continue to provide remote research services; please email research@filsonhistorical.org.

Sponsors

Brown Forman Logo
Blue Grass Motorsport Logo
Cave Hill Cemetery Logo
Dinsmore Legal Counsel Logo
Kentucky Select Properties Logo
JBS Logo
Stock Yards Bank and Trust Logo
The Eye Care Institute Logo