The Filson Historical Society 2019 Board of Directors

Carl M. Thomas - Chairman of the Board
Anne Brewer Ogden - Vice Chair
W. Wayne Hancock - Secretary
J. Walker Stites, III - Treasurer

Phillip Bond
J. McCauley Brown
Kenneth H. Clay
Marshall Farrer
Stuart Goldberg
Jane Goldstein

Laman Gray, Jr.
Robert E. Kulp, Jr.

Patrick R. Northam
H. Powell Starks
John P. Stern
Morris Weiss, M.D.
Marianne Welch
Orme Wilson III

Leadership Team

President and CEO: Richard H. C. Clay

Vice President: Julie Scoskie

Curator of Collections: James J. Holmberg

Chief of Business Operations: Marian Potter

Director of Collections Access: Jennie Cole

Director of Research and Co-editor of Ohio Valley History: Dr. Patrick Lewis

Collections Department

Manuscripts, photographs, prints, ephemera, and other primary sources. Genealogy, printed materials, maps and other published items. Portraits, ceramics, silver, textiles, weapons, and other artifacts.

*Please submit reference queries to; image orders to

Librarian: Kathryn Bratcher

Associate Curator of Collections: Jana Meyer

Curator of Photographs and Prints: Heather Potter

Museum Registrar and Exhibits Coordinator: Maureen Lane

Curator of Jewish Collections: Abby Glogower

Manuscript Cataloger: James Prichard

Archival Processing Assistant: Lynn Pohl

Collections Assistant: Brooks Vessels

Research Specialists: Hannah Costelle and Emily Benken

Associate Curator of Digital Projects: Danielle Spalenka

Research and Ohio Valley History

Co-editor of Ohio Valley History: Dr. Matthew D. Norman

Ohio Valley History Book Review Editor: Dr. Matt Stanley

Education and Programming

Special Events & Education Manager: Scott Scarboro

Marketing & Public Relations Coordinator: Jamie Evans
Editor of The Filson Newsmagazine, Managing Editor of Ohio Valley History


Membership, Annual Fund, Donations, Planned Giving, and the Cornerstone Capital Campaign.

Director of Development: Brenna Cundiff

Membership and Grants Manager: Kate Wanke

Special Projects Coordinator: Sarah Bruns

Administrative Department

Business Manager: Ellie Smith

Community Engagement Specialist: Emma Bryan