Other Resources

Other Resources

Digital Resources Featuring Filson Materials:

Antique Kentucky Samplers: https://antiquekentuckysamplers.org/

Civil War Governors of Kentucky Digital Documentary Edition: https://civilwargovernors.org/

Early American Sources: https://www.earlyamericansources.org/

Facing the Past Digital Exhibit: https://governorsmansion.ky.gov/art/Pages/Facing-the-Past.aspx 

Kentucky Online Arts Resource: http://www.koar.org/home.html

Kentucky Virtual Art Museum: https://www.pbslearningmedia.org/collection/kentucky-virtual-art-museum/

Lewis and Clark in Kentucky: www.lewisandclarkinkentucky.org

The Reckoning: Facing the Legacy of Slavery in America: https://reckoningradio.org/

Women’s Suffrage in Louisville:

Part I: Louisville Equal Rights Association: https://www.arcgis.com/apps/MapJournal/index.html?appid=63ca790d23e94978b15247b78113e868 

Part II: African American Women and Suffrage in Louisville: https://storymaps.arcgis.com/stories/770f9123d9584795916a12282bdf0865

See also: Carol Guethlein. “Women in Louisville: Moving toward Equal Rights.” FCHQ 55 (1981) 151-178.

Louisville-Area Repositories and Resources:

Archdiocese of Louisville Archives: https://www.archlou.org/services-directory/archdiocesan-agencies-facilities/archives/

Bellarmine University – Thomas Merton Center: http://merton.org/

Cave Hill Cemetery Louisville Burial Records Search: https://www.cavehillcemetery.com/search/

Floyd County, IN Recorder’s Office: https://www.in.gov/counties/floyd/department/recorder/online-records-search/

Researchers can visit either the Floyd County Recorder’s Office or the Floyd County Public Library to conduct this research.

For search tips and an overview of the records held, including land patents, emancipation records, free papers, and more, see: https://floydcountyrecorder.org/images/pdf/2024/Laredo-Indexing-Guide-Updated.pdf

Frazier Kentucky History Museum: https://www.fraziermuseum.org/

Herman Meyer & Son Funeral Home Jewish Louisville Burial Records: https://meyerfuneral.com/genealogy/

Indiana University Southeast Archives: https://www.ius.edu/library/find-information/special-collections.php

JCPS Archives and Records Center: https://www.jefferson.kyschools.us/archives-and-records-center /

For historical resources on Jefferson County, KY schools, see: https://jcpsky.libguides.com/c.php?g=522496&p=8082757

Kentucky Center for African American Heritage: https://kcaah.org/

Louisville Free Public Library: http://lfpl.org

Resources at the Kentucky History Room: https://www.lfpl.org/kentuckyhistory 

Genealogy and Local History resources online: https://www.lfpl.org/lfpl-databases?fv%5Bfield_collection_field_1%5D%5B221%5D=221

Online newspapers: https://www.lfpl.org/lfpl-databases?fv%5Bfield_collection_field_1%5D%5B218%5D=218

*please note, library card and pin are required to use some LFPL online resources. Learn more here: https://www.lfpl.org/howdoi#204

African American Archives: https://www.lfpl.org/african-american-history-archives

Louisville Metro Archives and Records: https://louisvilleky.gov/government/records-management-archives

Louisville Metro Office of Planning and Design – Historic Preservation: https://louisvilleky.gov/government/planning-design/historic-preservation-urban-design

Louisville Seminary (Presbyterian) E. M. White Library: https://www.lpts.edu/library/

New Albany/Floyd County Public Library: http://floydlibrary.org/

Indiana History room: http://floydlibrary.org/indiana-history-room/

Oldham County Historical Society: https://oldhamkyhistory.com/

Roots 101 African-American Museum: https://www.roots-101.org/

Simmons College Library: https://simmonscollegeky.libguides.com/sckyhistory

Southern Baptist Theological Seminary Archives and Special Collections: http://archives.sbts.edu/

Spalding University Library Archives and Special Collections: https://library.spalding.edu/archives

Speed Art Museum: https://www.speedmuseum.org/

University of Louisville Libraries:

Archives and Special Collections: https://library.louisville.edu/archives/home

Bridwell Art Library Rare Books and Manuscripts: https://library.louisville.edu/art/rarebooksandmanuscripts

Dwight Anderson Memorial Music Library Special Collections: https://library.louisville.edu/music/special-collections

Louis D. Brandeis School of Law Library Special Collections: https://louisville.edu/law/library/special-collections

Kornhauser Health Sciences Library History Collection and Archives: https://library.louisville.edu/kornhauser/archives/home

Kentucky Repositories and Resources:

African-American Genealogy Group of Kentucky: https://www.aaggky.org/

Faulkner Morgan Archive of Kentucky’s LGBTQ History: https://www.faulknermorgan.org/

Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives: https://kdla.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Kentucky Digital Library: http://kdl.kyvl.org/

Kentucky Genealogical Society: https://kygs.org/

Kentucky Heritage Council (State Preservation Office): https://heritage.ky.gov/Pages/index.aspx

Kentucky Historical Society: https://history.ky.gov/resources/catalogs-research-tools/

Kentucky Virtual Library: http://www.kyvl.org/

Pass the Word – Kentucky Oral History Commission: https://passtheword.ky.gov/

Preservation Kentucky: https://preservationkentucky.org/

University of Kentucky Special Collections Research Center: https://libraries.uky.edu/locations/special-collections-research-center

General Online Resources:

Chronicling America (newspapers): http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/

Early American Sources: https://www.earlyamericansources.org/

HathiTrust Digital Library: https://www.hathitrust.org/

Library of Congress Digital Collections: https://www.loc.gov/collections/

National Archives: https://www.archives.gov/

WorldCat (international library database): https://www.worldcat.org/