Architecture Collections

Architecture Collections

Representing more than fifty unique architectural firms, architects, landscape architects, and/or projects, the Filson’s architectural holdings illustrate Ohio River Valley’s built environment from the mid-19th century through present day. Project types vary from residential to commercial, industrial design and landscape, as well as educational, cemetery and park design, railroad, and religious—to name only a few.

The architectural collections can be searched through various portals both online and in-house. The Manuscript Database provides subject-level descriptions to content from each architectural collection. Finding Aids describe our larger collections and often link to a project inventory, which contains a detailed description of each project within the collection. See below for a listing of collections; each entry is linked to a finding aid or catalog record that provides more details about the collection.

This collection continues to grow, so check back regularly for updates. For research questions, please email research@filsonhistorical.org.

ARCHITECTURE COLLECTIONS

Anne Bruce Haldeman (1903-1993). Landscape design records, 1929-1986.

Anonymous. Architectural drawings, n.d.

D. X. Murphy & Bro., Architects records, 1854-1949.

D.X. Murphy & Brothers hospital facilities collection, 1912-1945.

Edd R. Gregg, 1897-1961. Architectural drawings, 1939-1956.

Engineers and Architects Club of Louisville. Mechanical and architectural bridge drawings, 1890-1919.

Ephraim McDowell House. Architecture restoration drawings, 1936.

Falls City Brewing Co. (Louisville, Ky.) Electrical wiring diagram, 8 March 1948.

George Herbert Gray (1874-1945). Architectural drawings, 1905-1919.

George Herbert Gray (1874-1945). Additional architectural drawings, 1908-1928.

Grace Lutheran Church, 1891 – ca.1988. Architectural drawings, 1938, 1988, 1990, n.d.

Herbert E. Redman (1896-1979). Architectural drawings, 1926-1968.

James Rees & Sons Company. Architectural plans, 1910-1914. 

John Andrewartha (1839-1916). Architectural elevation drawing, ca. 1867.

Louis & Henry Group. Architectural drawings, 1981.

Louisville and Nashville Railroad Company (Louisville, Ky.). Architectural plans, 1879-1961.

Louisville and Nashville Railroad Company (Louisville, Ky.). Additional architectural plans, 1879-1922.

Milton T. Shaw (1924-2010). Mechanical & architectural drawings, 1965-1983.

Olmsted Brothers, 1898-1980. Landscape architecture drawings, 1927. 4 items.

Mary Louise Speed (1891-1971). Landscape architecture drawings, 1931-1964.

Stewarts Dry Goods Building. Architecture drawings, no date.

Stratton O. Hammon. Architectural drawings, 1929-1996.

Townsend and Fleming. Architectural drawings, 1 July 1912.

William G.  O’Toole (1898-1956). Architectural drawings, 1909-1956.

Woodruff Farm. Architectural Drawings, 1918-1919.

RELATED COLLECTIONS

Arthur Raymond Smith. Photograph collection, 1910-1930.

Engineers & Architects Club of Louisville. Records, 1891-1984.

Engineers & Architects Club of Louisville. Additional Records, 1961-2012.

George Herbert Gray, 1874-1945. Photograph collection, ca. 1910-1930.

Louisville Landmarks Commission. Records, 1973-1978. 

Plato Family. Papers, 1924-1967.

Samuel Plato. Photograph collection, 1880s-1959.

Stratton Owen Hammon (1904-1997). Papers, 1929-1996.

William Strudwick Arrasmith (1898-1965). Papers, 1931-2000. 

Anne Bruce Haldeman (1903-1993) Papers, ca. 1928-1993

Anne Bruce Haldeman Working Library List

Venue Rental

Spaces Available for Rent Beginning 2021

The Filson Historical Society is a unique venue that blends the historic with the modern and provides a stunning background for any event. Several areas of the campus are available to be rented for dinners, retreats, meetings, receptions, parties, or weddings. The venues have access to 74 free parking spaces and wifi, as well as small catering areas. All of the Filson’s facilities have accessible parking.

View a virtual tour of our spaces!

Visit the Filson

1310 S. 3rd St., Louisville, KY 40208
(502) 635-5083

The Filson is temporarily closed to the public to protect our staff, volunteers, and patrons during the coronavirus pandemic. All events are currently postponed or virtual; to register for our live virtual events, please visit our Events Page; for information on recorded lectures and other activities, please visit us online at Bringing History Home.

We continue to provide remote research services; please email research@filsonhistorical.org.

Sponsors

Brown Forman Logo
Blue Grass Motorsport Logo
Cave Hill Cemetery Logo
Dinsmore Legal Counsel Logo
Kentucky Select Properties Logo
JBS Logo
Stock Yards Bank and Trust Logo
The Eye Care Institute Logo