Fincastle Beagle Club (Louisville, Ky.) Records, 1936-1992

Held by The Filson Historical Society

Creator:  Fincastle Beagle Club (Louisville, Ky.)

Title:  Records, 1936-1992.

Rights: For information regarding literary and copyright interest for these papers, contact the Curator of Special Collections.

Size of Collection:  1 cu. ft. and 2 volumes

Location Number:  Mss. BK F491

Scope and Content Note

Scrapbooks, minute books and treasurer and secretary files for the Fincastle Beagle Club. Collection includes minute books (1956-1986), treasurer records (1985-1989) and secretary files (1986-1989). The club records also document the social life and customs of beagling.

Historical Note

This organization started as the Louisville Beagle Club in 1936, which was organized out of a predecessor club, the Clear Creek Beagle Club. In the 1970s Louisville Beagle Club changed its name to the Fincastle Beagle Club and registered with the NBC (National Beagle Club). In 1989, the Fincastle Beagle Club merged with another Beagle club to form Clear Creek Beagle Club.

 

Folder List

Folder 1: Minute Book 1956-1965. Minutes from the Board of Director’s meetings. Subjects include treasurer’s reports, care of the hounds and kennels and new members.

Folder 2: Minute Book 1966-1974. Minutes from the Board of Director’s meeting.  Subjects include the treasurer’s reports, care of the hounds and the kennels, new members and incorporation papers.

Folder 3: Minute Book 1975-1986. Minutes from the Board of Director’s meetings. Subjects include treasurer’s reports, care of the hounds and kennels and new members.

Folder 4: Treasurer’s Book 1985-1989. Expenses and revenues for the club with check stubs.

Folder 5: Treasurer’s files. Receipts, canceled checks and correspondence dealing with expenses and income to the Clubs treasury.

Folder 6: Secretary files. Correspondence from members and newsletters to members. Official records including the closing merger to form the Clear Creek Beagles.

Folder 7: Loose papers. Newspaper clipping 1938 Beagle Club members, an autographed copy of “The Long Run Hounds,” Robert M. Nash’;s 1992 book about fox hunting, and correspondence about hunt dates.

Volume 8: Scrapbook, “Louisville Beagle Club, 1939-1972.” Photographs of hunts and parties, invitations to the Beagle Ball.

Volume 9: Scrapbook, 1973-1986. Photographs, newspaper articles, and invitations, hunt schedules, pedigrees for hounds.

 

Subject Headings

Beagling – Kentucky.

Clear Creek Beagle Club.

Dog sports – Kentucky.

Hunting – Kentucky.

Kentucky – Social life and customs.

Louisville Beagle Club.

 

 

Venue Rental

Spaces Available for Rent Beginning 2022

The Filson Historical Society is a unique venue that blends the historic with the modern and provides a stunning background for any event. Several areas of the campus are available to be rented for dinners, retreats, meetings, receptions, parties, or weddings. The venues have access to 74 free parking spaces and wifi, as well as small catering areas. All of the Filson’s facilities have accessible parking.

View a virtual tour of our spaces!

Visit the Filson

1310 S. 3rd St., Louisville, KY 40208
(502) 635-5083

The Filson is temporarily closed to the public to protect our staff, volunteers, and patrons during the coronavirus pandemic. All events are currently being held virtually; to register for our live virtual events, please visit our Events Page; for information on recorded lectures and other activities, please visit us online at Bringing History Home.

We continue to provide remote research services; please email gro.l1615229240aciro1615229240tsihn1615229240oslif1615229240@hcra1615229240eser1615229240.

Sponsors

Brown Forman Logo
Fund for the Arts Logo
Blue Grass Motorsport Logo
PNC Logo
Cave Hill Cemetery Logo
Kentucky Select Properties Logo
JBS Logo
Stock Yards Bank and Trust Logo
The Eye Care Institute Logo